Texas State Certified DWI Basic Education Program
Persons convicted of misdemeanor or felony drug offenses are appropriate for this Texas certified program.
This standardized 12-hour program targets individuals with a first-time DWI conviction and is certified by the Texas Department of State Health Services.
The curriculum includes three 4-hour educational sessions usually completed during a three-day timeframe and covers the following topics:
- DWI as a social problem, the law and client hostilities toward the criminal justice system
- Physical and psychological effects of alcohol
- Problem drinking and alcoholism
- Decision-making including a plan to prevent future DWI behavior
Note: Article 42.12, Section l3(h), Code of Criminal Procedure requires persons convicted of a first offense DWI and receiving probation, to complete a 12-hour DWI Basic Education Program certified by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS).